The Place to Find All Things Churchill

British Minister Lord Marland Awards Daw Aung San Suu Kyi the Churchillian Prize

Churchill Centre Board Member honors opposition Burmese MP.

Lord-Marland-ASSKLord Marland presents the Churchill Award to Aung San Suu KyiLord Marland, UK Minister for Energy, presented Noble Peace Prize winner Daw Aung San Suu Kyi with the International Churchillian Award 2012, in recognition of her furtherance of the causes of democracy and freedom.

Lord Marland met Daw Aung San Suu Kyi at the Amara Hotel in Naypyidaw on 10 July 2012, accompanied by a delegation of 24 of the UK’s leading businesses—the first UK trade mission to the country in many years.

In developing its trade and investment relationship, the British government will be working closely with UK companies to ensure they promote the highest standards of corporate governance, human rights, and social and environmental responsibility.

The Churchillian Award is presented on an annual basis by The Churchill Centre (UK) to honor those who have displayed Churchillian values in public life. Previous recipients have included Baroness Thatcher and General Sir David Richards, Chief of the British Defence Staff.

Related Story

Join Now

Join or Renew NowPlease join with us to help preserve the memory of Winston Churchill and continue to explore how his life, experiences and leadership are ever-more relevant in today’s chaotic world. BENEFITS >BECOME A MEMBER >

The International Churchill Society (ICS), founded in 1968 shortly after Churchill's death, is the world’s preeminent member organisation dedicated to preserving the historic legacy of Sir Winston Churchill.

At a time when leadership is challenged at every turn, that legacy looms larger and remains more relevant than ever.