Bloomsbury Publishing Plc  is a leading independent publishing house with companies in London, New York, Berlin and Sydney.


Nigel Newton co-founded Bloomsbury Publishing with David Reynolds, Liz Calder and Alan Wherry in 1986 and remains CEO to this day. Early authors of Bloomsbury included John Irving, Margaret Atwood and Joanna Trollope. They have subsequently published J.K. Rowling’s extraordinary successful Harry Potter series, on the recommendation of Newton’s daughter. In October 2012, Bloomsbury published the entire collection of the Churchill Papers in collaboration with the Churchill Archives Centre.

Bloomsbury undertook digitising the more than 800,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, ranging from Winston S Churchill’s personal correspondence to his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. Bloomsbury floated on The London Stock Exchange in 1994 and has grown organically and through acquisitions and partnerships. Bloomsbury publishes 2,500 books a year. They currently have four divisions include Bloomsbury Academic and Professional, Bloomsbury Information, Bloomsbury Adult Publishing and Bloomsbury Children’s Publishing.



Get the Churchill Bulletin delivered to your inbox once a month.